What is Nursing Revalidation?


Nursing revalidation is the process that proves you are still practising within the safe and legal guidelines set out by your governing body (NMC).

What is nursing revalidation?

Nursing revalidation refers to the renewal of the license as a nurse. This renewal started after every three years. Nursing revalidation is a legal frame, and structured process of the Nursing and midwifery council (NMC) to maintain the standards and good practices for nurses.

Nurses of all disciplines need to be prepared for regular check-ups of their skills, knowledge, and behaviour. The Nursing & Midwifery Council (NMC) sets out the rules every nurse must follow. This means that every nurse must meet the standards set out by their governing body to be able to practice legally and safely.

What does revalidation mean for nurses?

Revalidation is a key component of safe healthcare practice, that’s why nurses across all disciplines need to undergo regular revalidation. Nurses need to take responsibility and show their competence and commitment to the profession.

Every registered nurse (RN), midwife (RM), or specialist community public health nurse (SCPHN) must meet the standards set out by the NMC, which means that registered nurses need to go through nursing revalidation at least once every three years.

Requirements for nursing revalidation

There are seven main requirements for NMC revalidation:

1. Practice hours

Nurses must complete a minimum of 450 hours of practice over the three-year period since the last registration date. This may seem a lot but, equates to 12 working weeks for a full-time nurse. Any nurse falling short of the required hours must undertake, and finish, an approved return to practice program prior to the due registration date.

Note that for a dual nurse/midwife role this requirement increases to 900 hours.

2. CPD hours

Thirty-five hours of continuous professional development (CPD) must be undertaken and evidenced. Twenty of these hours must be participatory, i.e., in a learning environment with other nurses.

3. Practice related Feedback

Five pieces of practice-related feedback (positive or negative) should be identified, these could be patients’ or carers comments or from items at practice team meetings and minutes.

4. Reflective reports

From this feedback the nurse must write up five reflective reports, demonstrating how any learning has subsequently improved practice and meets with NMC standards.

5. Discussion with registered nurses

These reports should then be discussed with a registered peer (a registrant).

6. Health and character certificate

A health and character statement, including any convictions, and cautions, must be provided.

7. Professional indemnity

Professional indemnity arrangement of Job or insurance is required for nursing revalidation

What happens if a nurse does not revalidate?

If you do not submit your revalidation application on time, your registration will expire, making it illegal for you to practise nursing. To get back on the list, you’ll need to apply for readmission, which might take up to six weeks.

Bottom line

Nursing revalidation is a process of registration for nurses in the UK. NMC revalidation ensures that you’re able to provide the right level of care for your patients. Revalidation supports nurses in working towards greater standards of professionalism.

If you have any queries regarding  NMC revalidation, book a free one-one discussion with nursing experts at www.nursingrevalidation.co.uk or email at info@nursingrevalidation.co.uk with your questions and we will do our best to help find the answer.