Nursing Revalidation Forms: Everything You Need to Know 

Professional development is essential for providing the best care to your patients. Nursing revalidation is best to demonstrate your commitment through continuous improvement. Revalidation requires the completion of several forms. In this article, we will discuss what nursing revalidation is, the forms involved, and some frequently asked questions about the process. 

What is Nursing Revalidation? 

Nursing revalidation ensures that every registered nurse and midwife stays current with their professional development and stays fit for practice. It’s a way for nurses to keep their registration with the NMC in the UK.

Nurses must actively participate in nursing revalidation, completing it every three years. This involves fulfilling specific requirements such as finishing continuing professional development (CPD) hours, gathering feedback from colleagues and patients, and writing reflective accounts.

What are nursing revalidation forms?

These forms are documents that nurses in the United Kingdom are required to complete as part of the revalidation process, which is a regulatory requirement of the Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC). The revalidation process ensures that nurses are continuing to meet the NMC’s standards for professional practice and are upholding their commitment to lifelong learning and development.

What Forms are Involved in Revalidation? 

The revalidation process involves several forms, each serving a specific purpose:

  1. Practice Hours and Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Form:
    Nurses must document their practice hours and CPD activities for the past three years on this form. It’s essential to complete at least 35 CPD hours, including 20 hours of participatory learning.
  2. Reflective Accounts Form:
    Nurses are required to write reflective accounts on five pieces of practice-related feedback. These accounts should showcase the nurse’s learning, its application to their practice, and the resulting impacts.
  3. Confirmation Form from a Third-Party:
    A manager completes this form to confirm that the nurse has met the revalidation requirements. The third-party must sign and date the form before submission.
  4. Health and Character Declaration Form:
    This form mandates nurses to declare any health or character issues that might affect their fitness to practice.
  5. Professional Indemnity Arrangements Form:
    Nurses need to declare on this form that they possess adequate professional indemnity insurance.
  6. Test of Competence Application Form (if applicable):
    If a nurse hasn’t practiced for more than three years or has practiced outside the UK, they must complete the Test of Competence Application. This form assesses their fitness to practice and determines if additional training is necessary.


Nursing revalidation is an essential process that helps nurses to demonstrate their ongoing commitment to professional development. Completing the required forms can be a time-consuming and sometimes challenging task, but with proper planning and support, it can also be a valuable opportunity for reflection and learning. If you need help or guidance with completing your nursing revalidation forms, visit Get more about nursing revalidation, access helpful resources, and get support with completing your revalidation forms.

FAQs About Nursing Revalidation Forms 

Yes, you must complete all forms required for nursing revalidation. Failure to do so may result in your registration being lapsed. 

You need to write reflective accounts on five pieces of practice-related feedback. 

Yes, you can complete your nursing revalidation forms online through the NMC's revalidation portal.

If you do not complete your nursing revalidation forms on time, your registration may lapse, and you will no longer be able to practice as a nurse in the UK. 

If you need help with completing your nursing revalidation forms, you can seek support from your employer, colleagues, or a revalidation coach. There are also online resources available, such as the NMC's revalidation guidance and the Nursing Revalidation website.

Leave a comment