Step-by-step guide for How to register with NMC?

To work as a nurse or midwife in the UK, actively register with the Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC). The NMC maintains a comprehensive list of professionals, including nurses, midwives, specialist community nurses, and nursing associates, who are eligible to practice in the UK.

The NMC takes an active role in setting and reviewing standards for the education, conduct, and performance of students. This blog post will outline the active steps that international nurses and midwives can take to secure NMC registration in the UK.

Step 1: Qualification

The NMC requires that your nursing qualification be equivalent to a UK Level 1 nurse. In the UK, a Level 1 nurse is a nurse who has completed a three-year programme of education leading to a nursing qualification/academic qualification (a degree or diploma). For midwifery, you should have qualifications capable of registering as a midwife in the country you have trained.

Step 2: English language

You must communicate in English for NMC registration in the UK. Prove your skills in all areas of communication, which include speaking, reading, listening, and writing.
The NMC will accept three pieces of evidence:

  • A pre-registration nurse, midwife or nursing associate qualification which was taught and examined in English
  • The recent practice of at least one year in an English-speaking country
  • A pass in an English language test accepted by the NMC

English language tests

NMC registration will accept IELTS and OET examination certificate.
For International English Language Test System (IELTS), you must achieve an overall score of 7, at least 6.5 in the writing section and at least 7 in the reading, listening and speaking section.
NMC registration will accept an OET examination certificate if you have:
At least a grade C+ in the writing section and a grade B in the reading, listening and speaking sections.

Step 3: Self-assessment

Next, you will need to complete an online self-assessment. This will confirm your eligibility to apply for NMC registration. You must comply with NMC health, good character, and English language requirements. Later in the application process, you may be required to submit supporting documents.

Step 4: Competency Exam

This competency test examines your knowledge, understanding, and application of professional skills.
Your abilities will be assessed in areas such as long-term and acute care, caring for healthy people, caring for patients with complex illnesses and care for patients with complex needs, and caring for people in a social setting like their own home.
CBT is a computer-based exam that tests theoretical and practice-based knowledge. The exam is all multiple-choice and can be taken in a test centre or online, depending on where you apply.

Nursing revalidationregistered with NMC will guide you on this journey and answer any questions about the exam.
Candidates receive their exam results within 48 hours of taking the examination. You will either pass or fail. The CBT is valid for two years.
The exam price is £83. After your arrival, the Trust will refund you.
NMC will process your application in 60 days once all documents have been received.Once we receive all the documents, we will invite you to take the OSCE exam at your UK hospital.

Step 5: Documentation

You will need to pay the NMC registration fees after passing the CBT exam. This opens a portal. The portal allows you to upload all required documents.

  • Passport
  • Birth certificate
  • Qualification certificates
  • Police clearance
  • Registration verification from each country where you practised or where you have previously registered
  • Transcript of training
  • A good health declaration from your GP

Submit your application on the NMC portal along with all documents.After the NMC receives all required documents, a member of the International Registrations Team assesses your application. They aim to evaluate applications within 40-60 days of receiving all supporting documentation. This is the longest part of registration.

register with NMCStep 6: OSCE exam

Once you arrive in the UK, you will have three months to pass your OSCE exam. The OSCE simulates the clinical environment, and patient scenarios that registered nurses and midwives will encounter in their work. It also includes ten skill stations. You will move through each station within a specified time limit during each clinical exam called a “station.”
To become a registered nursing professional, you must pass ten stations. If you fail one of these stations, you will need to retake the exam and pass any other stations. Most of the NHS Trusts offer a structured OSCE training program delivered upon arrival to prepare you for your exam. If they determine that you are ready, they will schedule the exam.

NMC registrationStep 7: ID verification

On the day of your OSCE exam, the OSCE site will conduct an ID check, and they will require all the original documents you uploaded to your application. You will need to bring your passport, registration certificates and UK DBS.
After completing all the requirements, you will be a registered nurse and officially part of the NMC. You will now be able to work as a Band 6 or 7 nurse or midwife depending on your previous experience.

Leave a comment